Home Technology

How to cancel Netflix: A few extra steps you shouldn't skip – CNET

Your guide to a better future
Canceling your Netflix subscription isn’t hard, but there are some details you should know about first.
Jason Cipriani
Contributing Writer, ZDNet
Jason Cipriani is based out of beautiful Colorado and has been covering mobile technology news and reviewing the latest gadgets for the last six years. His work can also be found on sister site CNET in the How To section, as well as across several more online publications.
Downsizing your list of streaming services? We don’t blame you. There are so many streaming platforms available today, and only so many hours in the day to dedicate to the couch potato life. If you’ve settled on Netflix as the subscription to cut, read on for exactly how to do it. 
Canceling your Netflix subscription is pretty straightforward, but there are a couple of additional steps you’ll want to know about to protect your data when you do. Here’s how to delete your account — really delete your account — on Netflix for good.
If you’re on the fence about splitting from Netflix, here’s how to decide which subscription to nix. Plus, a list of free streaming alternatives to Netflix that will save you even more money, 10 ways to save money on streaming, and an app that can help you get your subscriptions in order. Want more? Here’s CNET’s guide to finally cutting the cord. And here’s how to cancel Disney Plus and how to cancel Amazon Prime.  
Read more: Best streaming service of 2021
To cancel your subscription, go to netflix.com/cancelplan and sign in with the email address and password you used for your account. Once you’re signed in, you’ll have two options. You can cancel your account but keep using it through your next billing date, or you can downgrade your plan to save some money each month. Here are all the Netflix plans compared.
Next, just click the button labeled Finish Cancellation
If you pay for your Netflix account through a third party, like your wireless carrier, you’ll need to contact that company in order to have your Netflix subscription stopped. 
You’re given a couple of options when canceling your Netflix plan. 
When you cancel your subscription, Netflix will keep all information linked to your account for 10 months. That means information such as your viewing history, account profiles and favorites will still be there if you decide to restart your subscription within that time. 
It makes sense that Netflix would hold onto this type of information, but if you want to have all of your personal data deleted prior to the end of the 10-month period, you’ll need to take an extra step. 
More specifically, you’ll need to send an email to “privacy@netflix.com” using the email address that’s linked to your Netflix account. Netflix will not accept requests from a different email address that references the email linked to your account. It has to be from the same address. 
If you don’t want to have your information deleted early, but you share your account password with someone else, it’s a good idea to change your password after canceling your subscription. That way, whoever you share your account with doesn’t log into your account and restart the monthly fee. 
Still looking for ways to cut subscriptions? Read how to cancel and then delete your Amazon Prime account. It involves more work than Netflix. Same goes for your Google account, should you be ready to get the search giant out of your life.

source

Ads
Previous articleHow Long Does It Take To Get To Mars? Trips To The Red Planet, Explained – Screen Rant
Next articleMicrosoft won't allow Windows 11 on many older Surface devices – PCWorld