If Spiderman has a Facebook profile hidden from the social media platform’s search feature, his mantra that you always have a choice won’t apply. Facebook announced that it just unfriended another privacy setting allowing users to keep their profiles unsearchable by others.
One part of the Facebook privacy settings that says “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” was stricken out of options before the end of 2012 for those who don’t have it enabled. For Facebook users who have this setting enabled other individuals using the network won’t be able to find them using the search feature even when their exact names are used to look for them.
Facebook will start sending out removal notices of the said feature to people who have it enabled. The message will be seen on the user’s homepage. The note will inform these users that the old privacy setting will be removed and that they will be visible and searchable via Graph Search.
“The setting was created when Facebook was a simple directory of profiles, and it was very limited. For example, it didn’t prevent people from navigating to your Timeline by clicking your name in a story in News Feed, or from a mutual friend’s Timeline. Today, people can also search Facebook using Graph Search (for example, “People who live in Seattle,”) making it even more necessary to control the privacy of the things you share rather than how people get to your Timeline,” Facebook explained the move through a blog post.
“The setting also made Facebook’s search feature feel broken at times. For example, people told us that they found it confusing when they tried looking for someone whom they knew personally and couldn’t find them in search results, or when two people were in a Facebook Group and then couldn’t find each other through search,” the post stated.
The most recent privacy settings change is just part of the continuing evolution of Facebook’s policies Back in August, the social media giant also made numerous changes with regard to legal documents, personalized ads, and user data access.
Now that no one can hide, and old posts can be searched, it is time to review your privacy settings. Does this move of Facebook make you think of deleting your account with the social media company?